Humongous Caterpillar

This morning, while walking in my backyard, I noticed this colorful object. I thought it was one of Oreo’s rubber toys. But I was sure I never got him a caterpillar.
I touch it with a leaf and…IT MOVED!!!!
I have never seen such a big caterpillar!!!! Look: it’s bright green with those black spots looking like eyes….
It’s approx. 7″ long and 1.5″ thick.


Anybody knows anything about it?

And thru my vox blog I was given links to sites featuring this Hickory Horned Devil .

Thank you, Pat at Vox!

5 thoughts on “Humongous Caterpillar

  1. I have never seen one of those and would probably scream, then jump at least a foot if I saw one. It seems just so alien, despite the fact that I think it also looks cool! I’m checking follow-up comments just in case someone knows what this little fella is…

  2. Thanks, Rowens, for your comment. Info on the creature was added at the bottom of the post: check it out.

  3. That is crazy! Not bdecause i havent seen 1 but because i hav seen 1. I was talking on the phone and looking at the ground and there it was! Ive only seen it the 1 time. I took about 15 pics of it too. The problem is my phone broke and i couldnt retreive the pics from it. In a way im glad that im not the only 1 but i was hoping i found a new species. Anyway thank u for helping me figure out what it was i had found.

Leave a Reply

