Share Your World 31

Do you plan out things usually or do you do them more spontaneously (for example if you are visiting a big city you don’t know?) I prefer the spontaneous approach when dealing with leisure activities. I do plan tasks that are related to work or home, though.


If you could live in any OTHER time, when would it be and why? It would be in ancient Rome. Even though I imagine life being hard in those times, I am really fascinated by that era, after all that’s where my ancestor were. I would also want to see  which things are still done similarly  today in Italy. Overall, I don’t think it would be a really enjoyable experience unless you were wealthy, as you had to work really really hard to survive , but I’m still intrigued.

Mattresses would be filled with reeds, hay or sheep wool.

I would bathe every day [". . . even in very ancient times and even in the depth of the country, Romans, including women and slaves, would wash every day and would have a thorough bath on every feast day if not more often" -Florence Dupont (Daily Life in Ancient Rome)]. 

And yes, I would wear underwear.

I would probably be doing the cooking, being a woman, unless I had a slave. I would cook a lot of porridge after mornings of grinding grains into  flour.

Here are two ancient recipes for porridge from the On Agriculture, written by Cato the Elder (234-149 B.C.) [from Lacus Curtius]. Note that the first porridge recipe (#85) is Phoenician and involves the fancier extra ingredients honey, eggs, and cheese than the simple Roman (#86) one involving grain, water, and milk.

85 Pultem Punicam sic coquito. Libram alicae in aquam indito, facito uti bene madeat. Id infundito in alveum purum, eo casei recentis P. III, mellis P. S, ovum unum, omnia una permisceto bene. Ita insipito in aulam novam.

85 Recipe for Punic porridge: Soak a pound of groats in water until it is quite soft. Pour it into a clean bowl, add 3 pounds of fresh cheese, 1/2 pound of honey, and 1 egg, and mix the whole thoroughly; turn into a new pot.

86 Graneam triticeam sic facito. Selibram tritici puri in mortarium purum indat, lavet bene corticemque deterat bene eluatque bene. Postea in aulam indat et aquam puram cocatque. Ubi coctum erit, lacte addat paulatim usque adeo, donec cremor crassus erit factus.

86 Recipe for wheat pap: Pour 1/2 pound of clean wheat into a clean bowl, wash well, remove the husk thoroughly, and clean well. Pour into a pot with pure water and boil. When done, add milk slowly until it makes a thick cream.


I also would not hear news from all over the world, but only special events coming via a messenger, and that is much less overwhelming than now. I would like that!

Mosaic in the Villa Romana del Casale, Piazza Armerina, Sicily, 2nd to 4th century -Photo by Calvin Wyckoff

Do you prefer reading short stories or novels? I like novels: crime stories, mysteries and thrillers.


As a kid was there any kind of candy that you didn’t like to get? For some reason I only remember the ones I liked to get; black licorice is number one, licorice root is number two, sugar candies filled with licorice are number three.

licorice filled

Linked to:

Share Your World

3 thoughts on “Share Your World 31

  1. I think you are more adventuresome than I – Roman times, like the Stone Age or the Victorian Age or any of those way-back-there times would just be tougher living than I want. Maybe if I was younger. . . . Very interesting answers!

  2. You have such awesome answers I’m sorry now that I took so long to get around to everyone’s SYW this week.
    I am giggling because of the lime replies we have alike, and yet I wonder why I did not think of licorice root. One of my very faves~

Leave a Reply

