Mamma e Nonni

I remember finding a bunch of negatives in my parents’ attic years ago; they looked so interesting that I decided to print them [I had a dark room, back then, even though I was developing photos very amateurishly]. The negatives were not well kept, they had scratches or acid marks, but I did not care, I just wanted to see them.
Some appeared to be photos of my parents and their friends, some were obviously taken during World War II. My father had to “serve the country” [=Italy], during WWII, so I think they were taken by him.
When I went to Italy this summer I found them and brought back a few with me.

4 of these photos are posted here.

Below is a photo of my mom in a field of wheat when she was much younger. The negative was stained…

Here are a few photos clearly taken during the German invasion…you can see the swastika painted next to a slogan on a wall “encouraging” to believe and obey.



and here is a photo of my nonni [=grandparents], my mother’s parents. I did not print this photo: it’s hanging in my parent’s home, I just photographed it from he wall. I never met my nonno, he died before I was born and I remember very little of my nonna, as she died when I was about 3 years old.

Now hurry over to Carrie’s blog for more friday foto finish fiesta .

Today I am grateful for everything that my parents did for me.

7 thoughts on “Mamma e Nonni

  1. happened by your blog by chance, and you know what? I think I like you. You seem like a very nice person. So glad you came to the states to live!

  2. these are amazing! you’re mom is so beautiful! thanks for sharing these moving photographs. p.s. sorry about the surprise sad blog post. happy new year!

  3. Oh Marina, I love these pictures. I still remember how great your mother was to me and how very bad a driver she was. valerie

  4. beautiful pictures. It is so great to be able to see the past from your own family pictures. Your Mother is so beautiful in that field. Our family has no old pictures. What we had were lost long ago.

Leave a Reply

