High Noon

I don’t think this photo is artistically appealing, but I wanted to post it because it is a photo of the sun. It’s the first time I could take a picture directly of the sun in the middle of the day.

I was in the car at a red traffic light and when I looked up I saw the light of the sun trying to come through the thick spread of clouds. I grabbed my camera that I carry with me at all times and…click!
I like how the clouds look like pillow stuffing, or a mattress cover, or cotton candy, or…anything but clouds.
Here is another photo of a sunset taken from an airplane.

Visit for more photos on the same theme.

Today I am grateful for a day off from work.

7 thoughts on “High Noon

  1. The photo taken from the plane is interesting. The first photo I thought was a flashlight shining on a mattress pad!!! LOL I’m glad I read what it was as it makes it all the more facinating. :-)Monica

  2. I thought the first shot was yeast doing its thing in a bowl of warm water with the reflection of the camera flash. Very interesting shots.

  3. Never ever in a million years would I have guessed that first picture was the sun! That looks absolutely fantastic. Good to know you were at a stop sign and not just driving along, looking up, and snapping pictures! Happy Fx4 Carrie

  4. Hi Marina :)It never stops amazing me, the effect light has on clouds. Both are so pretty in their own way. With the first one I can imagine all kinds of things, and yes, a mattress cover was the first thing I thought of, but also buttermilk comes to mind.The second one is so pretty, that blue is so soft, I could see it framed. It has a calming effect. Very nice. And from a plane no less. Wonderful.-Carly

  5. Both of these shots are fascinating in their own ways. I’m not sure what the first one reminds me of but the effect is truly unusual and cool. The sunset picture boggles my mind — beautiful and very different! Nice work!

  6. Excellent! I love the natural geometry of these. Also, the clouds in the first one remind me strongly of a baby blanket or a toy lamb, and the second has an odd pattern on the right that kind of looks like an abstract panther or something. Cool!

Leave a Reply

